Our Board

The Board is made up of the Principal, one staff trustee, up to six elected parent trustees and a student trustee. The trustees are elected by parents and staff members every three years, whilst the student trustee is elected annually. The Board is also able to co-op additional trustee members if required.

The Role of the Board

The Board's responsibilities include governing the school and setting its direction. This includes the curriculum, staff, property, health and safety, finance and administration. The Board monitors and reports annually on progress towards long-term goals and annual targets for the school

Lana McCarrollPresiding Member
Robert GilbertPrincipal
Alison ArrowParent Trustee
Husain BahrainwalaParent Trustee
Vikanda BagrieParent Trustee
Shane WatsonParent Trustee
Michelle DalleyStaff Trustee
Elisabeth CoxStudent Trustee
Stacey Fry (ex-officio)Associate Principal
Gaye Parlane (ex-officio)Executive Officer

Our Strategic Plan
Strategic Plan 2024-2025

The Board, collaborating closely with members of the senior leadership team, has identified key themes, aspirations, and areas for improvement within our school. The strategic direction and priorities outlined in this plan were informed through community consultation and other sources, including the annual report, curriculum reports, community feedback, and longitudinal achievement and attendance data.

Papanui High School Board noticeFriday 17 May 2024
Casual vacancies for up to three parent representatives

Casual vacancies have occurred on the school board for up to three elected parent representatives.

The board has decided to fill the vacancies by selection.

If 10% or more of eligible voters on the school roll ask the board, within 28 days of this notice being published, to hold a by-election to fill the vacancies, then a by-election will be held.

Request for a by-election should be sent to:

Lana McCarroll, Presiding Member

Papanui High School Board

c/- Papanui High School

Box 5220, Papanui, Christchurch 8542


Email: [email protected] by 24 June 2024